Photo of Phillip D. Hardberger

Phillip D. Hardberger Senior Counsel

Areas of Practice

Bar Admissions

  • Texas, 1965


Georgetown University Law Center, LL.B., 1965

Columbia University, M.S., 1960

Baylor University, B.A., 1955


Board Certified Personal Injury Trial Law, Texas Board of Legal Specialization, 1979-Present

Phil Hardberger is a former mayor of San Antonio, Texas. He took office in June 2005 through May 2009. During Phil’s tenure as San Antonio Mayor, he carried an approval rating of 86 percent and captured 77 percent of the vote during his re-election. He succeeded in extending the mayoral term limits and extended the San Antonio River Walk, including completion of the Museum Reach. He and Nelson Wolff started work on the Mission Reach and, after Hardberger was term-limited out, Wolff, after much work and money, finished it.  Hardberger also helped transform thousands of lives with Haven for Hope, celebrated the opening of Toyota’s assembly plant in San Antonio, and was one of the first mayors to provide assistance to the victims of Hurricane Katrina. In recognition of his leadership and foresight in championing quality of life projects, the City of San Antonio named a new major park after him. The 311-acre property is now Phil Hardberger Park.

Hardberger was born in Morton, the seat of Cochran County in West Texas. He graduated from Baylor University. After Baylor, Hardberger was a captain in the United States Air Force and piloted the B-47 bomber. His legal career began in Washington, D.C., where he was executive secretary of the Peace Corps and then assistant director of the U.S. Office of Economic Opportunity. After marrying his wife, Linda, and after several years of private law practice, he was appointed Associate Judge and then elected as Chief Justice of the Fourth Court of Appeals.

Currently, Hardberger provides counsel to the firm of Dykema in its Litigation, Appellate, Public Law, and Economic Development practices. In addition to his legal practice, he is actively involved in external affairs and community relations. He delivers business “know-how” with a results-oriented style that provides clients and colleagues with vision, creativity, and leadership.

Memberships & Involvement

  • State Bar of Texas
  • San Antonio Bar Association, past Director
  • American Bar Association
  • American Inns of Court, Master of the Bench, past President of Wm. S. Sessions Chapter
  • Texas Bar Foundation, Sustaining Life Fellow
  • San Antonio Tricentennial Commission, Honorary Co-Chair, 2018
  • College of the State Bar of Texas, Fellow, 1989-Present
  • Chairman, Council of Chief Judges, State of Texas, 2001-2002
  • Director, U.S. Council of Chief Judges, 1999-2002
  • Member, Texas Supreme Court Advisory Committee, 1999-2002

Community/Civic Activities

  • Honorary Chair, San Antonio Tricentennial Commission
  • Chair, Phil Hardberger Park Conservancy
  • Board Member, International Bank of Commerce, San Antonio
  • Board Member, Bexar County Performing Arts Center Foundation
  • Member of the Board of Trustees, United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County
  • Board of Directors, World Affairs Council of San Antonio
  • Board Member, Bexar Land Trust
  • World Affairs Council, International Citizen of the Year Award, 2019
  • San Antonio Chapter of the American Red Cross, Humanitarian Award, 2018
  • Bexar County Family Justice Center Honoree, 2017
  • Diplomatic Leadership Award, San Antonio Sister Cities International, 2016
  • Guardian Angel Award, Center for Family Relations, 2016
  • Outstanding 50 Year Lawyer Award, Texas Bar Foundation, 2015
  • Joe Frazier Brown Award, San Antonio Bar Association, Law Day 2012
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Mexican American Bar Association of San Antonio, 2012
  • Catholic Charities Humanitarian of the Year Award, 2011
  • Distinguished Leader Award, Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, 2011
  • Community Service Award, Peacemaker Awards Gala, 2010
  • Who's Who in San Antonio, S.A. Scene Hall of Fame, 2010
  • Dean’s Medal for Public Service Award; Columbia University School of Journalism, 2008
  • Downtowner of the Year, Downtown Alliance San Antonio, 2007
  • Baylor Distinguished Alumni Award, 2007
  • Environmental Excellence Award; Sierra Club, 2005-2007
  • Excellence in Conservation Leadership Award; Texas League of Conservation Voters, 2006
  • Annual Award for Creativity and Excellence in furthering the goals of the Bexar Land Trust, 2005
  • The Chief Justice John Marshall Award – National Council of Chief Judges, 2004
  • Judge of the Year, State of Texas, American Board of Trial Advocates, 2003
  • Star of Texas Public Service Award for Judicial Ethics/Excellence, Common Cause, Texas, 1999
  • Who’s Who in America, 1965-Present