Resources

Trademark Modernization Act: Are You Ready for the Changes?

November 30, 2021

Banner for Trademark Modernization Act of 2020

On November 17, the PTO announced it will begin implementation of the Trademark Modernization Act (TMA) on December 18th. The TMA includes new expungement and reexamination procedures to challenge questionable claims of use in commerce of a trademark. As a part of the TMA, there will also be new deadlines for responses to Trademark Office Actions. These efforts are all related to addressing improper claims of use and removing blocking trademarks from the register. 

Dykema attorneys will lead a discussion of what you need to know about the new Trademark Office expungement and reexamination procedures and other aspects of the TMA. The 30-minute webinar will highlight the key provisions and explain how brand owners can offensively use the new procedures for clearance and as a part of trademark enforcement, and discuss best practices to prepare and defend against any challenges including document retention.

Jennifer Fraser was involved in the drafting of the TMA and has provided comments to the PTO on the proposed rules. Join her as she shares her insights on the new rules and ways to navigate them.

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. EST
10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. CST
8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. PST

Speaker: Jennifer Fraser, Member

Please contact Amy Trevino at atrevino@dykema.com with questions.

Click here to register