News & Insights

Seven Dykema Attorneys Named “Lawyer of the Year”

October 26, 2010


Dykema, a leading national law firm, announces that seven of its Michigan attorneys have been recognized as "Lawyer of the Year" for 2011 by Best Lawyers, the oldest and most respected peer review publication in the legal profession.

Only a single lawyer in each practice area in each community is being honored as the "Lawyer of the Year" for 2011. The Dykema lawyers honored as "Lawyers of the Year" were selected because they received particularly high ratings and often superior comments from most of their peers. The selected lawyers have earned a high level of respect among other leading lawyers in the same communities and practice areas for their abilities, professionalism, and integrity.

"We are especially pleased that so many of our Dykema colleagues are receiving this important peer recognition," said Dykema Chairman Rex Schlaybaugh. "The bar is set high, and these lawyers have clearly met it."

The lawyers being honored are:

Ann Arbor Office
James M. Cameron, Jr., Bet-the-Company Litigation
Marie R. Deveney, Trust and Estates

Bloomfield Hills Office
Maria B. Abrahamsen, Health Care Law

Detroit Office
Joseph A. Ritok, Labor and Employment Law

Lansing Office
Albert Ernst, Energy Law
Gary P. Gordon, Government Relations Practice
William J. Perrone, Banking and Finance Law